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ANORDINANCE  2012-09-20-0739

REGULATING CREDIT ACCESS BUSINESSES;.
ESTABLISHING CERTAIN FEES AND FINES;  AND
AMENDING THE CITY CODE OF SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS TO
REFLECT SUCH CHANGES.

* * * % *

WHEREAS, certain credit access businesses engage in abusive and predatory lending practices,
offering easy money to those members of our community who are in a tight spot with onerous terms
and fees; and :

WHEREAS, the practices of certain credit access businesses cause members of our community to
become trapped in a cycle of short term, high interest loans resulting in large debt and huge
payments; and

WHEREAS, the PEW Charitable Trusts, in their publication entitled Payday Lending in America:
Who Borrows, Where they Borrow, and Why, (July, 2012), wrote that "payday loans are sold as two-
week credit products that provide fast cash, but borrowers are actually indebted for an average of five
months per year." It was further noted that "on average, a borrower takes out eight loans of $375 each
per year and spends $520 on interest."; and

WHEREAS, the PEW Charitable Trusts, in their publication entitled Payday Lending in America:
Who Borrows, Where they Borrow, and Why, (July, 2012), also noted: "How much borrowers spend
on loans depends heavily on the fees permitted by their state. The same $500 storefront loan would
generally cost about $55 in Florida, $75 in Nebraska, $87.50 in Alabama and $100 in Texas, even if it
were provided by the same national company in all those states. Previous research has found that
lenders tend to charge the maximum permitted in a state."; and

WHEREAS, the PEW Charitable Trusts, in their publication entitled Payday Lending in America:
Who Borrows, Where they Borrow, and Why, (July, 2012), also stated that "the vast majority of
borrowers use the loans on a long-term basis, not a temporary one. Thus it seems that the payday loan
industry is selling a product that few people use as designed and that imposes debt that is consistently
more costly and longer lasting than advertised."; and

WHEREAS, the Community Financial Services Association of America (CFSA), the national trade
association for companies that offer small dollar, short-term loans or payday advances includes the
following in the "Member Best Practices" as listed on its internet site (http://cfsaa.com/cfsa-member-
best-practices.aspx): "Members shall not allow customers to rollover a payday advance (the extension
of an outstanding advance by payment of only a fee) unless expressly authorized by state law, but in
such cases where authorized will limit rollovers to four or the state limit, whichever is less.” The need
for consumer understanding was also outlined on this website: "A contract between a member and the
customer must fully outline the terms of the payday advance transaction. Members agree to disclose
the cost of the service fee both as a dollar amount and as an annual percentage rate ("APR")."; and
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WHEREAS, the Center for Responsible Lending, a non-profit, non-partisan organization, stated on its
internet site (hitp://www.responsiblelending.org/other-consumer-loans/car-title-loans/tools-resources/
fast-facts.html) that: "car title loans are based on the value of a borrower's car - the ability to repay the
loan is not a factor in the lending decision ..."; "loan rates for car title are typically 20-30 times that of
rates charged by credit card issuers ..."; "the average car title customer renews their loan 8 times ...";
and, "on a $500 title loan, this average customer will pay back $650 in interest over eight months; the
principal borrowed will be in addition."; and

WHEREAS, lenders hold onto the motor vehicle title and when borrowers cannot continue to pay the
fees, they can lose their vehicles, which can drastically affect the borrower's means of transportation
for work and other essential household functions; and

WHEREAS, this ordinance was initiated by a Council Consideration Request (CCR) by Councilman
Diego Bernal, and this issue was twice presented to the Governance Committee for consideration and
review, which recommended consideration by the full City Council; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. That CHAPTER 16, "LICENSES AND BUSINESS REGULATIONS" of the San
Antonio Municipal Code is hereby amended by adding new Article XVI, "Credit Access Businesses,”
composed of Sections 16 - 901 through 16 - 913, to read as follows:

ARTICLE XVL
CREDIT ACCESS BUSINESSES

Sec. 16-901. - Sheort title and purpose.
{a) This article may be known and cited as "Credit Access Businesses Regulation.”

(b) The purpose of this article is to protect the welfare of the citizens of the City of San Antonio by
monitoring credit access businesses in an effort to reduce abusive and predatory lending practices. To
_ this end, this article establishes a registration program for credit access businesses, imposes restrictions
on extensions of consumer credit made by credit access businesses, and imposes recordkeeping
requirements on credit access businesses.

Sec. 16-902 - Definitions.

As used in this article:

(1) CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION means a certificate of registration issued by the
director under this article to the owner or operator of a credit access business.

@) CONSUMER means an individual who is solicited to purchase or who purchases the
services of a credit access business.

3) CONSUMER'S LANGUAGE OF PREFERENCE 1is the language the consumer
understands best.
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(4) - CREDIT ACCESS BUSINESS has the meaning given that term in Section 393.601 of
the Texas Finance Code.

(5) DEFERRED PRESENTMENT TRANSACTION has the meaning given that term in
Section 393.601 of the Texas Finance Code.

(6) DIRECTOR means the director of the department designated by the city manager, or
the city manager's designee, to enforce and administer this article and includes any representatives,
agents, or department employees designated by the director.

{7} EXTENSION OF CONSUMER CREDIT has the nieaning given that term in Section
393.001 of the Texas Finance Code.

(8) MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LOAN has the meaning given that term in Section 393.601
of the Texas Finance Code. '

(9) PERSON means any individual, corporation, organization, partnership, association,
financial institution, or any other legal entity. :

(10) REGISTRANT means a person issued a certificate of registration for a credit access
business under this article and includes all owners and operators of the credit access business identified
in the registration application fited under this article.

(1) STATE LICENSE means a license to operate a credit access business issued by the
Texas Consumer Credit Commissioner under Chapter 393, Subchapter G of the Texas Finance Code.

Sec. 16-993 - Violations; penalty.
(@) A person whao violates a provision of this article, or who fails to perform an act required of the
person by this article, commits an offense. A person commits a separate offense for each and every

violation relating to an extension of consumer credit, and for each day during which a violation is
committed, permitted, or continued.

(b} An offense under this article is punishable by a fine of not more than $500.

(c) A culpable mental state is not required for the commission of an offense under this article and
need not be proved. '

(d) The penalties provided for in Subsection (b) are in addition to any other remedies that the city
may have under city ordinances and state law.

Sec. 16-904 - Defenses.

[t is a defense to prosecution under this article that at the time of the alleged offense the person was not
required to be licensed by the state as a credit access business under Chapter 393, Subchapter G of the

Texas Finance Code.
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Sec. 16-905 - Registration Required.

A person commits an offense if the person acts, operates, or conducts business as a credit access
business without a valid certificate of registration. A certificate of registration is required for each
- physically separate credit access business.

Sec. 16-906 - Registration Application.

(a) To obtain a certificate of registration for a credit access business, a person must submit an
application on a form provided for that purpose to the director. The application must contain the
following:

(1} The name, street address, mailing address, facsimile number, and telephone number of the
applicant.

The business or trade name, sireet address, mailing address, facsimile nmumber, and
telephone number of the credit access business.

—~—
2%}
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(3) The names, street addresses, mailing addresses, and telephone numbers of all owners of
the credit access business and other persons with a financial interest in the credit access
business, and the nature and extent of each person's interest in the credit access business.

(4) A copy of a current, valid state license held by the credit access business pursuant to
Chapter 393, Subchapter G of the Texas Finance Code .

(5) A copy of a current, valid certificate of occupancy showing that the credit access business
i in compliance with the San Antonio Unified Development Code.

(6) A non-refundable application fee of $50.
(by  An applicant or registrant shall notify the director within 45 days after any material change in
the information contained in the application for a certificate of registration, including, but not limited
to, any change of address and any change in the status of the state license held by the applicant or
registrant. :

Sec. 16-907 - Issuance and display of certificate of registration; presentment upon request.

(a)  The director shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration upon receiving a completed
application under Section 16-906. '

(b) A certificate of registration issued under this section must be conspicuously displayed to the
public in the credit access business. The certificate of registration must be presented upon request to
the director or any peace officer for examination.

Sec. 16-908 - Expiration and renewal of certificate of registration.

(a) A certificate of registration expires on the earlier of:
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(1) one year after the date of issuance; or

(2) the date of revocation, suspension, surrender, expiration without renewal or other
termination of the registrant's state license. '

(b) A certificate of registration may be renewed by making application in accordance with Section
16-906. A registrant shall apply for renewal at least 30 days before the expiration of the registration.

Sec. 16-909 - Non-transferability.

A certificate of registration for a credit access business is not transferable.

Seec. 16-910 - Maintenance of records.

(a) Ar credit access business shall maintain a complete set of records of all extensions of consumer
credit arranged or obtained by the credit access business, which must include the following

information:

(1) The name and address of the consumer.
(2)  The principal amount of cash actually advanced.

(3)  The length of the extension of consumer credit, including the number of instaliments and
renewals,

(4)  The fees charged by the credit access business to arrange or obtain an extension of
consumer credit, and :

(5}  The documentation used to establish a consumer's income under Section 16-911.

(b} A credit access business shall maintain a copy of each written agreement between the credit
access business and a consumer evidencing an extension of consumer credit (including, but not limited
10. any refinancing or renewal granted to the consumer).

(<) A credit access business shall maintain copies of all quarterty reports filed with the Texas
Consumer Credit Commissioner under Section 393.627 of the Texas Finance Code.

(d) The records required to be maintained by a credit access business under this section must be
retained for at least three years and made available for inspection by the city upon request during the
usual and customary business hours of the credit access business.

Sec. 16-911 - Restriction on extensions of consumer credit.

{a) The cash advanced under an extension of consumer credit that a credit access business obtains
for a consumer or assists a consumer in obtaining in the form of a deferred presentment transaction

may not exceed 20 percent of the consumer's gross monthly income.
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(b) The cash advanced under an extension of consumer credit that a credit access business obtains
for a consumer or assists a consumer in obtaining in the form of a motor vehicle title loan may not
exceed the {esser of:

(1) three percent of the consumer’s gross annual income; or
(2) 70 percent of the retail value of the motor vehicle.

{c) A credit access business shall use a paycheck or other documentation establishing income to
determine a consumer’s income. '

(d) An extension of consumer credit that a credit access business obtains for a consumer or assists
a consumet In obtaining and that provides for repayment in installments may not be payable in more
than four installments. Proceeds from each installment must be used to repay at least 25 percent of the
principal amount of the extension of consumer credit. An extension of consumer credit that provides
for repayment in installments may not be refinanced or renewed.

(e) An extension of consumer credit that a credit access business obtains for a consumer or assists
a consumer in obtaining and that provides for a single lump sum repayment may not be refinanced or
renewed more than three times. Proceeds from each refinancing or renewal must be used to repay at
least 25 percent of the principal amount of the original extension of consumer credit.

H For purposes of this section, an extension of consumer credit that is made to a consumer within
seven days after a previous extension of consumer credit has been paid by the consumer will constitute
a refinancing or renewal. '

Sec. 16-912 - Reguirement consumer understand the agreement.

(a) Every agreement between the credit access business and a consumer evidencing an extension of
consumer credit (including, but not limited to, any refinancing or renewal granted to the consumet),
must be written in the consumer's language of preference. Every credit access business location must
maintain on its premises, to be available for use by consumers, agreements in the English and Spanish
- languages. : '

(b) For every consumer who cannot read, every agreement between the credit access business and
a consumer evidencing an extension of consumer credit (including, but not limited to, any refinancing
or renewal granted to the consumer) must be read to the consumer in its entirety in the consumer's
language of preference, prior to the consumer's signature.

() For every consumer who cannot read, every disciosure and notice required by law must be read
to the consumer in iis entirety in the consumer's language of preference, prior to the consumer's

signafure.

Sec. 16-913 - Referral to Consumer Credit Counseling

A credit access business shall provide a form, to be prescribed by the Director, to each consumer
seeking assistance in obtaining an extension of consumer credit which references non-profit agencies
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that provide financial education and training programs and agencies with cash assistance programs.
The form will also contain information regarding extensions of consumer credit, and must include the
information required by Sec. 16-910 (a)(1) - (5) specific to the loan agreement with the consumer . If
the Director has prescribed a form in the consumer's language of preference, the form must be
provided to the consumer in the consumer’s language of preference. '

SECTION 2. Should any article, section, part, paragraph, sentence, phrase, clause, or word of this
Ordinance, for any reason, be held illegal, inoperative, or invalid, or if any exception to or limitation
upon any general provision herein contained be held to be unconstitutional or invalid or ineffective, the
remainder shall, nevertheless, stand effective and valid as if it had been enacted and ordained without
the portion held to be illegal, inoperative, unconstitutional, invalid or ineffective.

SECTION 3, The publishers of the City Code of San Antonio, Texas are authorized to amend said
code to reflect the changes adopted herein and to correct typographical errors and to format and
number paragraphs to conform to the existing code.

SECTION 4. The City Clerk of the City of San Antonio is hereby directed to publish notice of this
ordinance as required by the Charter of the City of San Antonio and the laws of the State of Texas.

SECTION 5. This ordinance shall take effect January 1, 2013.

PASSED and APPROVED this 20th day of September, 2012.

A Y O R
Julian Castro

ATTEST: APPROVED AS TO FORM:

ichg M. Vacﬁg City CJfk



