OUTSTANDING CHECKS and UNCLAIMED PROPERTY
Linked below are Outstanding Checks and Unclaimed Property held by the City.
Amounts over $100 that are deemed abandoned and are over three years old for
vendors or one year old for employees as of June 30th of each year are
transferred to the State of Texas Comptrollers' Office by November 1st of
each year. The remaining population is retained on the City's books.
To view property held by the State of Texas go to
Please note that even though checks presented below may have cleared
subsequent to the month shown they will remain on this list until the next
month's report is released.
Outstanding Checks are all un-cashed disbursements issued by the City
over the past three years. Items over three years old as of June 30th
are moved to the City's unclaimed property account by November 1st of
Unclaimed Property is all un-cashed checks, deposits, bonds, and
physical property held by the City where the City has not been able to
locate the original owner for three years or more. Amounts over $100
that meet the time requirement of release are transferred to the State
of Texas Comptrollers' Office by November 1st of each year, while the
remaining population is retained on the City's books.
TO ACCESS CLAIM FORM
The owner may present proof of their right to receive an outstanding
check or unclaimed property, by submitting a claim form to the City's
Finance Department. Completed signed claim forms along with copies of
any required documentation may be mailed or emailed to the addresses
listed on the form. Please be prepared to provide the following
Item being claimed, as described in the listings
posted on this website;
Owner's current name along
with previous names and names of co-owners;
The owner's current
address and all previous addresses, including post office boxes;
The owner's social
security or tax identification number;
The owner's driver's license number;
A daytime phone number or
The City will review the information received and take one of the
Contact you for additional
Deny your claim by
notifying you in writing, or
Accept your claim for
ownership and process your claim for payment. It takes six to eight
weeks to process a payment.
commercial finder or service is necessary. However, if you choose to use
a commercial service charging a fee to help you locate your money,
please note that Texas law limits the amount of fees they may charge to
10 percent of the value of the unclaimed property involved.